This is the "General" page of the "Encyclopedias & Dictionaries" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Earlham College Earlham Libraries Home Earlham Libraries - Lilly Library Earlham Libraries - Wildman Science Library Earlham Libraries - Friends Collection and College Archives Earlham Libraries - Seminaries Research Tutorials Citation Help Facilities & Services Staff Policies FAQ My Accounts

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries  

Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014 URL: http://earlham.v1.libguides.com/encyclopedias Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Oxford English Dictionary Word of the Day

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Credo Reference

Reference Universe

Reference Sources

Search across the indexes of print and electronic reference works.

Enter your search terms:
  • Reference Universe
    Search across the indexes of many reference works with this unique tool. Earlham does not have all of the works indexed; the little book icon next to the title indicates we have it.

General

  • American National Biography
    Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life.
  • Biography in Context
    Information on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes content from dozens of published reference works and hundreds of periodicals.
  • Birds of North America Online
    Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
  • Blackwell Reference Online
    Contains the complete texts of almost 300 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference works from Blackwell Publishing, including the Blackwell Companions.
  • Brill's Encyclopedia of China
    A comprehensive encyclopedia on China, covering a variety of subjects.
  • Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
    A general encyclopedia covering a large range of topics.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    A collection of specialized reference works.
  • New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
    Online version of the six-volume set from Charles Scribner's (2004). Interdisciplinary discussion of concepts in culture, theory, and thought.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Online version of the 60-volume reference set that provides scholarly biographies important people in British history.
  • Oxford English Dictionary
    Current, online version of the famous dictionary.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference titles.
  • Pop Culture Universe
    Contains 307 books, 4,133 book chapters, 17,322 encyclopedia entries, and 6,621 images.
  • Reference Universe
    Search across the indexes of many reference works with this unique tool. Earlham does not have all of the works indexed; the little book icon next to the title indicates we have it.

Reference Help

Profile Image
Earlham Librarian
Contact Info
765-973-2106
Schedule:
During the semester,
Research Help Desk Hours are:
Mon, Tues, Thurs 1:30-4pm, 7-10pm
Weds 2:30-4pm, 7-10pm
Fri 1:30-4pm
-------------------------------------------------:
 

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095

Copyright information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip